In Five Years Time…{40 Life, Travel, Work and Personal Goals}

With everything going on in the world and in life right now (absolutely nobody has been unaffected by consistent and mass changes), it’s been hard. It’s been especially hard to look forward when the road ahead looks so uncertain, but recently I’ve been able to refocus my metaphorical-life-lens and see beyond the now, which is always a huge motivator.

This list is for semi-personal-reference, but also something I’d like to share with you and like you to join in with – whether on your blog or in the back of a notebook! Hopefully in five years time – after the world has undoubtedly changed again and again – I can look back at this list and see how far I’ve come. I often forget.

I did a little round up of everything I’d achieved between 2010-2020 and, honestly, a lot of things on there were completely unpredictable. I hope my reality extends beyond this list, but this’ll give me a fun base and some inspiration. Without further adieu, my goals for the next five years:

Travel

  • Listen to ‘Vienna’ by Billy Joel in Vienna.
  • Go on a solo-trip to Disneyland Paris
  • See a broadway show
  • Visit DCA with my sister
  • Return to WDW
  • Take a tour around Japan with my sister
  • Take my mum for a weekend away
  • Visit NYC
  • Take an overnight train

Work

  • Work abroad
  • Get a salaried job
  • Move for work
  • Work in Social Media
  • Get a theatre-related job
  • Start a small business
  • Publish a Novel
  • Build my Social Media Portfolio
  • Make a side-hustle out of social media

Life

  • Find a signature dish to cook
  • Get my driver’s license
  • Run a mile (I’m not a runner!)
  • Take dance/singing lessons
  • Organise an event
  • Write more letters
  • Book an impulse class/event/break
  • Learn more German/take language classes
  • Build an emergency finance fund
  • Try more foods

Milestones

  • Move into my own flat
  • Get the keys for my first house
  • Celebrate my 21st in style
  • Buy my dad tickets to sit in the stalls of a West End show

Achievements

  • Perform in another concert
  • Leave uni with a first
  • Perform in another musical
  • Keep volunteering my time
  • Finish a novel
  • See Billy Joel live
  • Put money into a retirement fund for the first time
  • Eat at a 5 star restaurant
  • Have afternoon tea
  • Start a podcast

7 thoughts on “In Five Years Time…{40 Life, Travel, Work and Personal Goals}

  1. Andy S says:

    The stalls at “The Other Palace” are likely to be the most affordable 🙂 – lets hope they restage “Eugenius” xxx

    Like

  2. mphtheatregirl says:

    Five years from now.

    Well, I actually have being musicals since I was a kid. My very first experience of seeing a musical on Broadway August of 2006 (was only 12 then). It was Wicked.

    Most shows I see are tours- Blumenthal hosts the Broadway Tours coming to Charlotte. I have been to the West End once: Les Mis. Literally five years ago from this exact date was when I saw Les Mis in London: July 30th, 2015

    Like

      • mphtheatregirl says:

        Well, I was hoping to see Anastasia and Frozen this year, but the pandemic got in the way- those are postponed.

        The next show I really want to see is Hadestown: it is coming October 2021. It was a last minute show added to Blumenthal’s 2020/2021 season

        Like

Leave a comment